Social Media: Open Door to Learning?

George Couros, the “Principal of Change”, wrote an article on his blog entitled “3 Ways Social Media Can Improve School Culture”.

gcouros_1319329470_34

His three points of improvement are increased visibility,  increased accessibility, and a flattened organization.

Visibility:

I can completely agree with his notion that social media will optimize visibility. When I was in second grade, I had a very hard time understand what lessons were being taught when I merely had to read, because I couldn’t see the projector screen. The words were all too fuzzy for me. If I had a tablet in front of me, I would be able to participate more efficiently. Also, I am more comfortable sharing my answers without having to speak out loud. If my classes used social media to create electronic forums, I would feel a lot more at ease.

Accessibility:

When more people connect, more success is created. This is what I received from this particular point, and I completely agree! Creation needs more collaboration.

A Flattened Organization:

When I first read this phrase, I will honestly admit I had no idea what it meant. Once he linked me to his “Everyone’s A Teacher and Everyone’s A Learner” article, I finally understood. Everyone can teach and be taught together in this expanding technological world.

Social media will open the doors to easier communication and social interaction. The world needs to embrace it.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

